For thirty years HRH Prince Michael of Kent has played a leading role in supporting improved road safety both in the United Kingdom and around the world.

The Prince established his awards scheme in 1987 in the UK and now fully international, the Prince Michael International Road Safety Awards recognize achievement and innovation in road safety worldwide.

Each year the most outstanding examples of international road safety initiatives are given public recognition through the scheme and the winners are invited to a Gala Presentation held in London, where the Prince announces his Premier Award for that year.

In addition to the international awards, the Prince annually presents a Decade of Action Award to recognise major contributions to the Global Decade of Action for Road Safety 2011-2020.

Celebrating 30 years of the Prince Michael International Road Safety Awards


Brochure front cover

Celebration: The 30th Anniversary of the Prince Michael International Road Safety Awards

Recently Prince Michael held a reception in London to thank those who have supported his awards scheme over its 30 years. His guests included award winners and members of the Awards judging panel. Official photographs from the reception are available to download.

Over many years the Prince has visited award winners in Africa, Asia, Europe, Australia and America to see at first-hand their achievements and has an unrivalled experience in seeing successful road injury prevention in practice.

Prince Michael served as Patron of the influential Commission for Global Road Safety, and strongly supported the current Decade of Action for Road Safety. Now as patron of the newly established Towards Zero Foundation, HRH continues to lend his support to improved global road safety.

These awards are organised and managed by RoadSafe


2017 Award Ceremony


View the official photographs from the 2017 ceremony at The Savoy

View Prince Michael's Award Speech 2017



View the comments and further photographs of the 2017 Award Ceremony on Twitter


Premier Award

This award is announced at the Annual Awards Ceremony by Prince Michael. It is given to the most outstanding winner of any category. The 2017 Award goes to Bosch Global.

Find out more about the Premier Award